The National Paediatric Hospital Development Board is responsible for the design, planning, building and equipping of the new children’s hospital.

The Minister intends to restructure the Board by way of legislation, to ensure that provisions in its Establishment Order relating to its functions and membership reflect its sole focus on the building project.

The appointments announced last week replace the interim Board, which included officials from the Department of Health and the HSE. The appointments are as follows:

Mr Tom Costellowas elecetd Chairperson of the Board. Mr Costello is a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of Engineers Ireland (C.Eng FIEI). He is a former Managing Director (Ireland) of John Sisk & Son Ltd where he directed the Sisk team on the successful completion of many of the largest and most significant projects built in Ireland.

Other Board members are:

Mr Tim Bouchier Hayes is a Partner at McCann Fitzgerald and has over 35 years’ experience in dealing with public authorities, developers, architects, engineers, surveyors and builders on all aspects of construction projects. He received a Special Award from Engineers Ireland in recognition of outstanding contribution and commitment to the activities of the Institution.

Ms Anne Butleris a Chartered Engineer, is a former President of the Institution of Engineers of Ireland. A founding Director of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), she was on its board for ten years. She now heads her own environmental consultancy/advisory service where she specialises in environmental and regulatory matters, and is also on the Board of the ESB and on the Governing Body of the Dublin Institute of Technology.

Mr John Cole CBE is an architect by profession who soon due to retire from the post of deputy secretary and chief estates officer for the Health Estates Investment Group (HEIG) at the DHSSPSNI. He is a former chairman of the European Health Property Network. He previously held the presidency of the Royal Society of Ulster Architects and was also a Council member of the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA).

Professor Ian Hann is a former Professor of Paediatric Haematology and Oncology and Associate Medical Director of Great Ormond St Children’s Hospital, where he was a member of the Variety Club Building Project Team and later the Redevelopment Board. He was also a member of the Medical Research Council Leukaemia Trials committee for more than 20 years.

Mr Karl Kentis a Registered Architect and Fellow of the Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (FRIAI). He is a consultant architect-planner with Doyle Kent Planning Partnership Ltd since early 2012. Karl was a Member of the Strategic Infrastructure Division of An Bord Pleanála from its establishment in January 2007 until his retirement from the Board.

Mr John Martinis a planner with many years’ experience in local government and An Bord Pleanála. He was Principal Planning Adviser in the Department. of the Environment, Community and Local Government from 2002 to 2011. He served as a member of the 2012 Review Group on the new children’s hospital (the Dolphin Group).

Ms Regina Moran is CEO of Fujitsu in Ireland where she leads a 350 strong team focused on delivering ICT services that add business value to the Irish marketplace. She is currently Vice President of Engineers of Ireland (FIEI), a board member of IBEC Ltd., a member of the Dublin City University governing authority and a Director of EirGrid.

Mr Paul Quinnis Chief Procurement Officer at the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform. He previously worked with Eircom where he was Supply Chain Director from 2007. He has a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from Dublin City University and a Degree in Engineering from the College of Technology, Kevin Street.

Ms Marguerite Sayers is Operations Manager in the Generation and Wholesale Markets directorate, overseeing ESBs generation portfolio in Ireland. She is an electrical engineer, with 22 years experience working for ESB in various technical and managerial roles. Marguerite is also a Trustee of ESB’s Medical Provident Fund, a member of Engineers Ireland’s Council and Executive Committees and Chair of the Board of BESL (Amorebieta Generating Station in Spain).

Mr Ian Carter is HSE National Director of Acute Hospitals. He was Chief Executive of St James’s Hospital from 2006 to 2012. Prior to this he held various senior hospital management positions including Deputy CEO, St James’s Hospital and General Manager, Acute Hospitals, Mid-Western Health Board.

Mr Brian Fitzgerald is the Chief Executive at St James’s Hospital. He is a fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and holds a 1st class MBA from the Smurfit Business School UCD. He also holds the position of Adjunct Assistant Professor at Trinity College Dublin.

In addition to the above members, a nominee of the Faculty of Paediatrics is due to be appointed to the Board in the coming months.