Public Affairs Ireland | Training and Development | Conferences

The Government has accepted the recommendation of the Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence, Mr Alan Shatter TD, to nominate Deputy Chief of Staff Support Major General Conor O’Boyle for appointment by the President as Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces. He will succeed the current Chief of Staff Lieutenant-General Sean McCann, who will retire on August 12 2013.
Minister Shatter congratulated Major General Conor O’Boyle and thanked the outgoing Chief of Staff “for his outstanding contribution as Chief of Staff over the last three years and for his lifetime dedication to the Defence Forces.”