Public Affairs Ireland | Training and Development | Conferences

The new Expert Advisory Committee for the Culture Ireland programme of the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht has held its inaugural meeting in Dublin.  

Under the Public Service Reform Plan, the work of the Culture Ireland programme is being aligned more closely with the work internationally of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the IDA, and Tourism Ireland.

Members of the Expert Advisory Committee inlcude: Mícheál O Súilleabháin (Chair); Caitriona O’Kennedy IDA; Catriona Fottrell, Ireland Funds; Colm O’Floinn, Department of Foreign Affairs; James Hickey, Irish Film Board; John Costigan; Maureen Kennelly;  Mary McCarthy, National Sculpture Factory; Niall Gibbons, Tourism Ireland; Orlaith McBride, Arts Council; and Niall Ó Donnchú, Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Jimmy Deenihan TD commented that “the Committee brings a focus not only in the promotion of Irish arts abroad, leading to further career opportunities for Irish artists, but also delivers wider benefits of tourism and enhanced global reputation for Ireland as a centre of creativity and innovation. There are many shared interests around the table who will now be working together to achieve a shared goal.”

The Chair of the Expert Advisory Committee, Mícheál O Súilleabháin, said “I am delighted that the work of the new Expert Advisory Committee has commenced with an invigorating and successful initial meeting. I am truly hopeful that the new Committee, working closely with the talented and hard working executive, will be able to build on the excellence of both former Boards, and of the achievements of the executive to date. I am especially pleased at the Minister’s decision to expand the new Committee to include representatives of the working community of artists in Ireland.”